The Marks Building was built for John Otten's clothing store, but when Mr. Otten defaulted on his loan, pioneer real estate agent Tom Marks took the building back and had his last name set in stone over the doorway. The Marks Building served as the first Snohomish City Hall from its opening in 1888 to 1928. The city jail was located in the basement of the building. The Marks Building featured the very first flush toilets in the City of Snohomish when it first opened. During Prohibition, the Marks Building basement was used for bootlegging liquor through an underground tunnel to the nearby Snohomish River for transport to the thirsty customers of the many speakeasy establishments upriver!
Today the Marks Building is home to over a dozen unique retail shops and professional businesses.
Built in 1888, the Marks Building is located in the heart of beautiful historic Snohomish, Washington. Located just 30 minutes northeast of Seattle, the City of Snohomish was named "One of the top 10 coolest small cities in America!